Yin and Yang

The ancient Chinese have observed that everything in existence has polar opposites or two extremities. These opposites are interdependent and cannot exist without each other. They are interrelated and intertwined. Yet nothing is completely pure so at their extremes the opposites still contain some trace of the other. This seemingly simple yet highly complex concept is called Yin and Yang. The dualities of things such as light and dark, positive and negative, high and low are just some of the physical manifestations of Yin and Yang. Both are equally important and necessary, very much unlike the concept of good and evil where good champions all.

All things soft, passive, yielding, slow, cold, dark; and is associated with water, the earth, the moon, night time and femininity is what represents Yin.

On the other hand, all things hard, aggressive, focused, fast, hot, bright; and is associated with fire, the sky, the sun, daytime and masculinity is what represents Yang.


The Five Elements Theory

The Five Elements Theory was developed in China over 4,000 years ago and has influenced or been the basis of many traditional arts such as Feng Shui, Chinese astrology, acupuncture and the general practice of Chinese medicine. It gives one a paradigm that can be used for consistency between emotions, behaviours, and personality.

The Five Elements consist of: Earth, Metal, Water, Wood and Fire.

The Five Elements can be described abstractly as representations of the transformation that occurs in the world around us, as metaphors for describing how things interact, relate, process and change. Their levels of intensity fluctuate with the changes of time and each other. If Yin and Yang can be thought of as polar opposites, then the Five Elements is just a simple system of gears. Knowing the representations of each element and how they interact, you can modify the objects around you to change the flow of energy to your benefit. As a result, this theory provides an excellent basis for a holistic approach to a healthy lifestyle.


Body Source Code

The Chinese Sexagenary Cycle is a 60 year cycle with each year, month, day, and hour being represented by specific Chinese characters. Each character embodies the properties of Yin and Yang as well as the five elemental energies. Each year, month, day and hour are represented by a pair of Chinese characters, one being the Heavenly Stem and the other being the Earthly Branch. This system of stems and branches is a method of time keeping. A person’s exact moment of birth (year, month, day and hour) will be classified by four pairs of stems and branches, which equates to a total of eight characters called Body Source Code [八字] or also known as Bazi and the Four Pillars of Destiny


Chinese Astrology

Zeus Sensor is based on the ancient Chinese astrology system of Zi Wei Dou Shu [紫微斗数], which literally translates as “Purple Star Astrology”. During the exact moment of one’s birth, one is affected by various energy levels when coming out into the world and meeting the universe. Over the millennia ancient Chinese astrologers have noted that specific celestial patterns in the sky during the time of one’s birth correlate to certain human characteristics and behaviours throughout one’s life. Through many years of observation and record keeping, they were able to identify which specific celestial body and their locations were conducive to which specific characteristic. A method was then carefully devised to extrapolate from one’s date and time of birth in order to calculate the locations of over 100 significant celestial bodies, thus be able to discover more about the individual.


Note on calculation method:

  • We use the late zi hour method, 23:00 to 00:00 is counted as the next day.
  • The lunar new year is counted as the beginning of the year.